Don’t Overdo it!

Standard
VDAY! It's that time of the year again where lovesick puppies begin their chase on their tails once more! Good luck sickos!

VDAY! It’s that time of the year again where lovesick puppies begin their chase on their tails once more! Good luck sickos!

Dear overkill,

I hate going to dictionaries when doing essays so no; I’m not here to define love and VD (coz of the pic)  in a typical fashion with a bunch of cliche lines like “love is blind” or “love hurts” because I’m not that naive, and frankly those stuff seem repulsive to me. Just read because I really don’t know what I’m going to say this time, I just know I have to at least post something because am gonna be busy this week. That and maybe gain some readers who cares so much about romantic sappy balls.

Hmm, I guess I’ll start with the boring loneliness this day…it’s just a typical Sunday where I curse my bloody body clock for waking me up at 5:30 in the morning! As usual I checked my facebook and found it full of lovesick people who gives two shits on Valentines. Harsh I know and I’m not bitter either, actually I already got myself a fair share of chocolate and flowers for my past VDays thank you very much (granted it’s not from suitors and all those crazy eeky stuff). But the sanctity of the day lost its meaning to me.

I’m not about to break down and put a sob story here since I do not have any kind of those embedded in my memory, rather I just think this generation of couples are losing their touch. It’s been stereotypical I think, everyone’s been repeating the same process of giving flowers and chocolates to people they say they love, but after that day then what?!

They don’t even say those three special words- well most of the delusional teenagers that is. Before when February 14 comes it really feels like love is in the air! Not because of the flowers one receives and the pretenses of love letters made by delusional teens, no! It’s because of the thought that people actually take time and enough effort to make that certain day special for their partners. People then actually said ‘I love you’ sincerely and only to the person they know they’re gonna spend eternity with. Before, people spend VD with only one person for the rest of their lives.

I remember how my dad used to wake up early in the morning and connive with me and my sis on how to surprise my mom. We’d quietly trudge down the stairs and prepare a delightful breakfast for my mom. How we wake her up by snuggling with her and giggling and urging her to wake up and go downstairs; and when she lays her eyes on the specially prepared dining table her eyes would have that beautiful shine in them. Her lips would move up and I swear it’s like we can hear her heartbeat. And then my dad will giver her a single red rose freshly picked from the garden and tell her those three words that  always make her melt before kissing her abruptly on the lips teasing me and my sister. Both shouting our protest on how yucky they both are being. That’s what I know of love. It’s the effort you put on something to make that precious person of yours smile and melt in happiness and warmth. It’s a homey feeling not that lust everybody nowadays are busy thinking.

It’s not the scents of flowers in the air, but the scent of sweat and the amazing feeling of goosebumps making you shiver and the smiles of couples enough to lit up the universe!

A little over the top I know, but at least before everyone was sincere in voicing out their real feelings! Unlike today, when people spend VD with different douche bags and slut bags every year. It’s like a game now; like an amazing race on getting the most dates and getting laid in the process. People like these stained the perfect image of le day of le hearts.

No love no shame. No guts no glory!

YEAH!

I don’t know if I’ll ever get to see a VD filled with the sincerity of love and happiness exuded by literally everyone on this planet. Maybe I’m just expecting too much from everyone. Maybe I’m such a perfectionist and a little bit obsessed with trying to turn things into the way they were before. Maybe I’m just afraid of the changes happening around me because I’m terrified of being left out.

I don’t know, and the reality is, I never will. Just have to wait and see how each day goes. But whatever I’m babbling here and I’m losing my touch. Just get your ass up on VDay and stop yourself from buying overly prized flowers and chocolates and just go for EFFORT!

It’s not the amount that counts, it’s the thought. Remember that and keep your wallet inside a well locked voltage this coming 14th! :p

– wallcrawl

Leave a Reply

